About SSM10

About YF vaccination-001

The 10th Summer School on Medicines (SSM10) will be held in Ribeirão Preto, SP, Brazil from March 16 – 23, 2018,  under the sponsorship of the Sao Paulo School of Advanced Science initiative (FAPESP, the São Paulo Research Foundation). SSM10 is structured to cover the whole process that leads from ideas and projects to drugs reaching the market, with interactive classes, case studies, lecture sessions and visits to the SUPERA Tech Park.

Dr Chris Lipinski, author of the rule of 5 for predicting drug-like structures for oral bioavailability in early discovery, speaking at SSM4 in Montreal (2012).

Discovering a new drug is a complex process that involves a wide range of highly specialized professionals in public institutions and industry, from biologists and chemists to clinicians, economists and regulatory affairs specialists. Since 2009, the Summer School of Medicines has become a benchmark for training in this area.

MaxSSM10 offers a unique 50-hour training program on drug discovery, development and market access under a multicultural sponsorship in the nice setting of Ribeirão Preto city, SP, Brazil. Make plans now for one full week of lively presentations and direct interactions with Academic Faculty and Industry experts, covering the whole value chain of medicines, from “target to market”. The Faculty members are leaders in their field and contribute to create one of the most innovative and focused programs in drug discovery and development currently offered.

Each year since 2009, the SSM has involved more than 60 students, professors and research companies, bringing the opportunity to learn about drug discovery process in a multicultural context (the participants come from Canada, France, Spain Brazil and many other countries).


SSM10 – Scientific & Organizing Committee

São Paulo School of Advanced Science on “Medicines: from Target to Market”, to be held in conjunction with the 10th Edition of the Summer School on Medicines initiative – SSM10.
March 16th-23rd, 2018.

Chair: Claudio M. Costa-Neto
Department of Biochemistry and Immunology, Ribeirão Preto School of Medicine -University of Sao Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, SP

Scientific & Organizing Committee:

  • Claudio M. Costa-Neto (Ribeirão Preto School of Medicine -University of Sao Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, SP)

  • Roger Chammas (School of Medicine, University of Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, SP)

  • Michel Bouvier (Institute of Research in Immunology and Cancer, University of Montreal, Canada)

  • Denis DeBlois (Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Montreal, Canada)

  • Pierre Cordelier (INSERM 1037, Cancer Research Centre of Toulouse, Toulouse, France)
  • Rémy Poupot (Paul Sabatier University, Toulouse, France)
  • Jordi Quintana (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain)

Local Organizing Committee:

  • Claudio M. Costa-Neto
  • Marcelo Damário Gomes
  • Larissa B. Teixeira
  • Lucas T. Parreiras-e-Silva
  • Laena Pernomian
  • Emiliana P. Abrão
  • João Paulo P. Almeida
  • Sarah C. Simões
  • Diego A. Duarte
  • André L. Balico da Silva
  • Lúcia R. Jayme


SSM10 Partners & Sponsors :